Keep Me Faithful

FullSizeRender (6)

I learned this song last year at Cornerstone. It’s written by students at Cornerstone University and I love it. I find this to be my prayer often, and I love the truth embedded within the lyrics.

I hope you find some encouragement in them as well!

In the hour of trial, Jesus, plead for me
Lest my heart be blinded and I depart from Thee
When Thou seest me waver, help me to recall:
You’re my constant helper; You’ll never let me fall

Should my heart be tempted to chase earth’s empty charm,
Or fill my life with idols that will only bring me harm
Let your love shine truer, love shown in agony
The Maker of Creation, murdered on a tree

Help me to be faithful through the watches of the night
Your Word is the oil that keeps my lantern bright
Light my path and guide my feet, for I so often stray
Keep my weak heart faithful ‘till night turns into day

Should thy mercy send me sorrow, toil, and woe
Or should pain attend me on my path below
Grant that I may never fail Thy hand to see
And in every trial draw my strength from Thee

When my hour cometh, fraught with strife and pain
When my dust returneth to the dust again
On Thy truth relying through that mortal strife
Jesus, take me, dying, to eternal life

Leave a comment